St. Augustine Metropolitan Cathedral (Cagayan de Oro City, Misamis Oriental)

St. Augustine Metropolitan Cathedral

Just walking distance from the City Museum of Cagayan de Oro and Heritage Studies Center is the Neo-Gothic-style St. Augustine Metropolitan Cathedral, the ecclesiastical seat of the Archdiocese of Cagayan de Oro (canonically erected on January 23, 1933).

Check out “City Museum of Cagayan de Oro and Heritage Studies Center

The Neo-Gothic-style facade

This church was first built in 1624 by Father Agustin San Pedro but both church and convent burned down in 1778.  Rebuilt in 1780 by Father Pedro de Santa Barbara, it again burned down in 1831.

The cathedral interior

In 1845, it was rebuilt with coral stones imported from China by Augustinian Recollect Father Simon Loscos de Sta. Catalina but it was destroyed during the World War II bombardment in 1945.  Only the facade and the wooden cross in front survived.

A 1925 photo of the church’s original Baroque-style facade

The present Neo-Gothic-style cathedral was built from 1946 to 1951 by Archbishop James T.G. Hayes, S.J.D.D., the first bishop of Cagayan de Oro.

AUTHOR’S NOTES:

Comparing an old 1925 and present photo of the church, the Baroque-style facade of the church seemed to have survived the 1945 bombing but it was greatly altered during the rebuilding.  The semicircular arched windows were replaced by Gothic-style lancet windows, a portico was added and the finials at the ends of the triangular pediment (its raking cornice now adorned with drip molding) were not restored.

Only the base (now square), of the formerly octagonal bell tower (beneath which is the grave of Father Ramon Zueco de San Joaquin who died in 1889 in Cagayan de Oro), on church’s left, remains. A new bell tower, on the church’s right was, instead, built.

Stained glass window

Its nine century-old stained glass windows, the work of well-known masters, depict the life of Christ and came from the Chapel of the Sisters of the Sacred Heart (now the Church of the Sacred Hearts of Mary and Jesus), an old  Gothic-style chapel built in 1882 in New York.

Stained glass window

The bells, hung in the new bell tower in 1950, were fashioned from the church’s old bells shattered during World War II – San Agustin (1807), Santa Ana (1813) and El Salvador (1857).

The Relic Chapel

Just outside the porte-cochere is a wooden Sta. Cruz built by Augustinian Recollect friars in 1888, the only relic that remains of the church’s Hispanic past.

The Spanish-era wooden cross

St. Augustine Metropolitan Cathedral: Barangay I, Cagayan de Oro City, Misamis Oriental.  Tel: (088) 857-2139.  Feast of St. Augustine, Bishop of Hippo: August 28.

How to Get There: Cagayan de Oro City is located 94.4 kilometers (a 2-hour drive) from Malaybalay City (Bukidnon) and 88.7 kilometers (a 1.75-hour drive) from Iligan City (Lanao del Norte).

City Museum of Cagayan de Oro and Heritage Studies Center (Misamis Oriental)

City Museum of Cagayan de Oro and Heritage Studies Center

We still had time to kill as we made our way to Laguindingan Airport for our return flight to Manila, so Wyller Manus, our Bukidnon tour guide, suggested we make a stopover at Cagayan de Oro City to visit the 3-storey City Museum of Cagayan de Oro and Heritage Studies Center.

Museum facade

Here, we were welcomed and toured around the museum by Mr. Jesus Christopher “JC” F. Salon, acting curator of the museum.

Mr. Christopher F. Salon (third from left) discussing the Higaunon Bancaso (ritual table)

Located across the street from Gaston Park, this museum, a fine example of adaptive reuse, is housed in an old cylindrical water tower that sourced water, for 3,000 people, from Mahuganao Spring, Brgy. Cugman in Malasag Hills.

Exhibit on the indigenous people of Cagayan de Oro

Built from 1919 to 1922, it survived the September 1944 American bombing during World War II and is considered as the city’s oldest known surviving public structure.

Exhibit on Cagayan de Oro’s early history

In the late 1970s, the National Waterworks and Sewerage Authority (NAWASA) took over the water system and stopped using the tower and it was abandoned.

Exhibit on Spanish Period

Between 1994 to 2000, it was used as a temporary office of Barangay 1 and, in 2001, it was used as a makeshift darkroom by photographers from the Golden Friendship Photographers Association, Inc. (GoFPAI).

Spiral stairs leading to second floor

On December 1, 2008, then City Mayor Constantino Jarula had the tank renovated and turned into a city museum.

Exhibit on Cagayan de Oro during the American Period

The museum houses old photographs of the city’s significant events and personalities; fascinating exhibits that trace the city’s evolution, from its early indigenous roots to its contemporary developments; as well as a diverse collection of some archaeological finds.

Bamboo spikes used by guerillas to trap and maim enemy targets

Its well-curated displays provide insights into the indigenous cultures, colonial influences, and the vibrant community life that defines Cagayan de Oro. The floors are accessed via spiral staircases.

Rayadillo uniform and sword

A Philippine bolo and a Japanese sword

At the Ramon and Rosario Chavez Gallery, at the first floor, JC first showed us the Higaunon Bancas0 (ritual table), a very important cultural artifact of the indigenous Higaunon community.

Third floor gallery

The Filomeno M. Bautista Gallery, at the second floor, showcases the history of the city during the Philippine-American War (notably the battle around 1900) and World War II.

Third floor gallery

The third floor houses the museum’s newest exhibit (opened last November 21) which showcases the history and modernization of the city after World War II.

The motorela

A notable artifact here is the Parker 51 fountain pen used to sign Republic Act No. 521, the law that created the city.

An antique radio

City Museum of Cagayan de Oro and Heritage Studies Center: Gaston Park, Fernandez St., Brgy.1, 9000 Cagayan de Oro City, Misamis Oriental.  Mobile number: (0915) 881-0719.  E-mail: hccc.cdo@gmail.com. Open Tuesdays to Sundays, 8 AM to 5 PM.